Grace-Full; Today’s Thought

signalmoutain

Grace is a powerful thing. It’s where God holds us. We fail and we fall but He holds on. It’s where He says: “as far as the east is from the west,” and “Now unto him that is able to keep you from falling, and to present you faultless before the presence of his glory with exceeding joy,” (Psalm 103:12; Jude 24:24) That’s what it means to be a Christian. That’s what being saved is. We learn, oh, so slowly. We’re ardent to follow God until we get selfish. We focus on things that don’t matter. By ourselves we are wretched. Without Him to hold us we’d wither away. He’s the One who says, “Never will I leave you or forsake you.” (Hebrews 13:5) He loves us with fierce passion, even more than we love ourselves. So should we sin all the more so that grace may abound? (Romans 6:1) No. But should we fear all the ways in which we fall short because we might not remain saved or because that proves somehow that we weren’t saved to begin with? Not this either. Focusing on this steals our joy. I admit it. I’m a failed flaw of a Christian. I’m not sure what He sees in me. I’m WAAAY out of Jesus’ league. But I do love Him, and I am grateful. He’s answered so much in my life. He’s forgiven me a kathousand times. He’s taught me and held me and waited. And when I gave into weakness and quit trying, His grace extended like a rope that wouldn’t break. “Hold me,” I pray often. “Forgive me,” is sometimes all I can think to pray. And He stays. I reach out and find Him, my best and dearest friend. That’s what grace is. Thank you, God, that’s it’s far more powerful than my weakest actions, inactions, and sins. I love You, too.

One comment

  1. Ellen · March 8

    Amen friend. There are years that I’ve fallen asleep and he’s gracious enough to wake me up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

