The Leaf Dream

treeslakeman

So I had this dream once. In it, I was trying to prove the existence of God; that He had created everything. In the dream we were outside, me and the person I was arguing with. All around us in the Pacific Northwest, there was greenery: leaves, fern, bush edges, grasses and trees. Pause a moment and consider our eyes that God gave us, that we can differentiate a thousand shades of green.

Plants can be grown, my opponent pointed out. Their genetic material examined under a microscope. Plants can be grafted into each other and even new varieties of rose bush created. In fact, she told me, humans can create and master all of the building blocks of our planet. There’s no need or proof of God.

In my dream a sudden passion rose up in me. I reached out and snatched off a big leaf from a neighboring tree.

“Can humans do this?!” I cried, tearing the leaf into pieces. I closed my fingers over the leaf bits and then looked at my fist. When I opened it, I wanted to show her that only God had the power to knit atoms back together. He was the creator, and He could mend the leaf before our eyes. It was a small miracle I was asking Him to do. It wasn’t going to affect anyone but us. Like when Elijah tested the false Gods in comparison to the real One by pouring water over the altar. (1 Kings 18: 20- 40) We humans had challenged. We had insisted that God was real. Now it was up to Him to prove it, our leave us hanging with a wet altar and torn bits of a leaf in our hands.

But I knew He was with me, and that He wouldn’t let me down. In my dream I appealed to Him and then opened my hand.

And God did something beautiful. He hadn’t just mended the leaf; He’d made it three times larger.

When I woke up I was zinging with electricity as if I’d actually had that confrontation and the touch of God happen instead of dreaming it. I knew this was one of those spiritual dreams that Christians are supposed to have sometimes. (Joel 2:28; Acts 2:17) I wondered, who was I supposed to tell it to?

But then I realized that this dream wasn’t just about proving God’s existence to a doubting world of humans. This was a dream about faith. We’re not here to do carnival tricks with a magical God. If you want to see His magic, just take a look outside or a glance in the mirror. We’re here to believe in Him, and then to love Him, and then to hold on when our faith gets tested. That was the real miracle my dream was describing.

2 comments

  1. Ellen · February 19

    Psalm 96: 11-13 (ESV)

    Let the heavens be glad, and let the earth rejoice;
    let the sea roar, and all that fills it;
    let the field exult, and everything in it!
    Then shall all the trees of the forest sing for joy
    before the Lord, for he comes,
    for he comes to judge the earth.
    He will judge the world in righteousness,
    and the peoples in his faithfulness.

    Like

    • winneyb · February 19

      I can’t wait to see the trees sing for joy and the fields exult!

      Like

Leave a Reply

