More of the Moor

christmascard

As Christmas is around the corner I’m very happy God remembered us. All snug up in Heaven Jesus came down. He braved this rugged plain as a vulnerable human. He came to find us as we roamed, lost in the fog. Like the winds in my Work In Progress He came to touch our skin with a thousand messages. He came to translate love.

I’m wrapping up my story now,

As happy an ending as I can think of.

My character has all that I wanted for him- almost.

He’s got family and a home and someone to love.

I think of his environment and why it drew me.

What is it about the Moor, rugged and stretching like a wild thing?

I think my home and family are like a bulk and a bulwark to me.

Outside howls the big world I can’t control. I know it’s rugged but I try to see beauty in it. Soon my daughter will bring a new little one home for us to hold. I wanted to tell a story with the howling wind outside and the warmth of family inside. My characters made some big mistakes in the past. But they are rich because they own a castle next to the Moor, and each other.

When Moordyms get lost in the vast silver-gray,

Does mysterious future or portents past draw them away?

The Moor dwells beside the castle walls,

Of yesterday and tomorrow it calls,

Yet stay for family; Moordyms need to avow,

Love sifts the Moorish breeze into scents of right now.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. artistpath · December 21

    I can’t wait to read your story of the moors….sounds enchanting! And you my friend, are the warmth of the fire that draws people near. What a blessing you are!

    Like

  2. Ellen · December 21

    Wonderful thoughts to read… A very Merry Christmas to you and yours!

    Like

Leave a Reply

