Scents and Portents

‘…a huge gust of wind suddenly struck him and then ruffled back the curtain behind him into the bedroom. It was as if the wind was flowing along out there on the Moor and then; when it saw him, changed directions to coat him with scents and portents.’

vintage-balcony

My current Work In Progress is going mostly well. Except I’ve sort of fizzled out here writing the end. I’ve wrapped up the mysteries and told the reader everything. I’ve given my main character two choices in life but we all know which one he’s supposed to choose. He’s been shown a new situation so vibrant and huge and his old life was so ordinary. I think this whole book is me- dreaming of faraway castles and rugged beauty.

So there my character stands. I’ve put him under a lot of pressure. I’ve laid it all out for him but he’s stubborn. He’s not ready to have his whole life and future planned for him. In the castle window there’s a balcony. He’s thrown open the door and is staring at the vastness of life. Outside in the night air the Moor stretches as far as his eye can see. There’s an ocean of possibility there on the balcony.

“Go on,” I urge him, “out into the Moor.” Oops, he almost jumped off!

I’m not sure what he needs to make this dreamy place his reality. I think it’s the girl that will decide him- she’s not his yet so her face is still distant. I wonder what happening I’m supposed to write that will conclude this story and finish his doubts?

One comment

  1. Ellen · December 15

    I’ve been doing some dreaming of faraway castles, too. Have a great rest of your week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

