The Art of Distraction

juggle-dog

So I’m sitting at the Black Dog yesterday with two talented writer friends. They looked so busy and industrious. I was just pretending. I said, suddenly, “I need a distraction!”

They both looked at me, willing to be helpful so I went on a ramble about my stuck-in-the-plot place of my story. It was long and made my story sound ineffably boring.

“I don’t want it to be the usual sort of distraction either!” I said. Not the one where the two guys pick a fight to distract the guards. Not the cat in the back of the warehouse that knocks over an empty paint can. Not even this one:

Eventually they had to go and finally I figured out what distraction to use in my scene. I’m not sure where it came from!

See picture above to guess what I did! What have you used as a distraction?

Leave a Reply

