Bit of bright

laughingboys

I’ve been a bit down lately. Dear friends have been sick or have loved ones who are. I’ve been worried about my own children. My 55th birthday is around the corner, and I feel like I’m an adolescent again- inadequacy has been knocking. When I whine in prayer, I tell myself I’ve got no right to, before God has the chance to say anything to me in reply.

He’s given me so very much.

He’s help me through every trial.

Other people in the world are having a harder time.

These things are so true, you see, it proves how inadequate I am!

Ha ha, here’s God when he’s being funny.

The other day my dear friend who sends me a verse a day sent me this one.

Philippians 4:

Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Huh, nice, I thought.

I went on fretting and then telling myself what a loser I was to sit around fretting when God has given me so much.

And so today when going about my business I was directed to this verse by another source. Again.

Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice!     (Philippians 4:4)

Yes, God. Sometimes You do have to say. it. TWICE.

I’m a bit slow on the uptake.

But I notice some laughter bouncing in the back of my mind. And did you see that sunshine outside! I love the Autumn!


2 comments

  1. Ellen · September 12, 2016

    I have to be hit upside the head a few times…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. artistpath · September 13, 2016

    You are such a gift to the world, my friend. Lift up your head and know that you are loved!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

