Wings of the Morning

lighthouse

Psalms 139 is my favorite. When praying this morning this section came to my mind.

Psalms 139: 7-12

Where can I go from Your Spirit?
Or where can I flee from Your presence?
If I ascend into heaven, You are there;
If I make my bed in hell, behold, You are there.
If I take the wings of the morning,
And dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea,
10 Even there Your hand shall lead me,
And Your right hand shall hold me.
11 If I say, “Surely the darkness shall fall on me,”
Even the night shall be light about me;
12 Indeed, the darkness shall not hide from You,
But the night shines as the day;
The darkness and the light are both alike to You.

It was my daughter’s 1st anniversary yesterday so she and her husband went to see this lighthouse movie- in which the theme of extreme solitude is explored. The previous lighthouse keeper began sending signals to the distant ships, looking for his dead wife. After this the man jumped off a cliff and so they needed a new lighthouse keeper. She said the movie goes downhill from there. (What a movie to go see on your anniversary: fortunately we were able to laugh about it!)

But now I’m thinking how thankful I am that when we are standing about in nature, alone on a windswept cliff- we can see the evidence of the Creator, and feel the kiss of His touch in the mist.

I love doing that. All by myself I love finding a cliff that overlooks the ocean and flirting with the Spirit as He is felt like the wind. I allow perspective to stretch long- as far as my eye can see. I don’t learn much, most of the time, or more than what I already knew.

He is there, with me. This aching beauty and the very eyes I have to see it were made by Him; the finest artist. His hand is strong and steady, the lean grip of the carpenter. He says, ‘steady now, go with the grain, sweep up the dust, and polish.’

One comment

  1. Ellen · September 6, 2016

    Happy Anniversary to your daughter and husband. I want to sit on the ocean shore and listen to the waves and flirt with the Spirit… 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

