Drat and Double-Drat!

We Help Mommy

I got a little confused while writing my Work In Progress. It was one of those ‘what day did I say that happened again?’ questions. So I decided, like my dear friend in the writing group showed me, to do a nifty timeline of my story up to now. I discovered two tiny problems. One, I called Chapter Six ‘Chapter Six’, but oops, I called Chapter Seven ‘Chapter Six’ too. So that means that all the chapters after that are now misnamed! (I’ve written to Chapter Twenty-Two, oops, I mean Chapter Twenty-Three.) Argh!

The second problem is worse, and it’s one I should know better not to do by now! I discovered that day two of my story encompasses eight (count them; EIGHT) chapters! In other words, I think I may have just created the first 47 hour day! Of course, this is a fantasy I’m writing so perhaps on that world they have the (occasional) super long day, while all the other days go by in a more normal passage of time.

Perhaps I should just leave it. After all there’s the possibility that no one will ever read this story anyway, and there’s the even stronger possibility that they won’t notice this super long day if they do! Ha ha, I’m the master and I can do what I want!!!

But it made me start thinking. What would it be like if we took our days and summarized them on a little timeline? Would some of the days that God’s given us seem super long? I remember reading this story, We Help Mommy, to one of my kids and it made me laugh. (This is an approximate description following:)

We help mommy: by getting up, getting dressed, making our beds, tidying up our room, washing our hands and face, brushing our teeth, making breakfast, eating breakfast, cleaning up after breakfast, vacuuming, dusting, tidying the whole house, doing laundry, going grocery shopping, watering the garden… and then it’s lunchtime.

I thought, ‘Wow, this is the coolest and most efficient Mommy in the WHOLE WORLD!’

Then I wondered where I had gone wrong.

Let’s hope today I’m a better writer than housewife! (Although my family might wish otherwise!)

3 comments

  1. sherijkennedyriverside · August 25

    Too cute…That book was written in the 50’s right?
    Yes, I think I will do a timeline a little earlier in the process next time. Having made the Bookshop Opening on Sunday in 1910 caused a pretty major overhaul that was threaded throughout the story, and it would have been nice to fix all that when it was a first draft instead of almost polished for publishing.
    I almost always end up repeating a chapter number….bummer, but not too hard to fix.
    Happy Writing!…and editing!

    Like

  2. tahenryauthoress · August 25

    I am crazy flipping efficient and even I call BS on that morning routine. LOL

    Like

  3. Ellen · August 26

    Ha! Guilty as charged.

    Like

Leave a Reply

