Today’s Sermon- Apologetics

Micah 6:6-8~

With what shall I come before the Lord
    and bow down before the exalted God?
Shall I come before him with burnt offerings,
    with calves a year old?
Will the Lord be pleased with thousands of rams,
    with ten thousand rivers of olive oil?
Shall I offer my firstborn for my transgression,
    the fruit of my body for the sin of my soul?
He has shown you, O mortal, what is good.
    And what does the Lord require of you?
To act justly and to love mercy
    and to walk humbly with your God.

Samaritan

Christians are accused of belonging to a high and mighty club, where they decide who’s good enough to pass the gates. But in reality, the only password is the word ‘sinner’ and we all share it. Our goal, to be free of it once and for all; to throw away the rule book and be loved by a God who ‘keeps no record of wrongs.’

But it seems to me that another club is the sneering elite of the skeptics, and that those who seek to cling to their faith are the ones left out in the cold, blamed for the world’s ills, ridiculed for believing in the good parts of their antiquated faith.

For both sides love is demanded. For Christianity love is commanded. Of course tolerance, say both. The one says there are no sinners but those who say the word ‘sinners.’ The other says equality comes from the baseline of common humanity. We all fall short, not just in our sex lives but in many other ways. And we all, whether or not we choose to accept it, judge others by our own rule book.

Jesus said, first commandment, Love God. And the second is like it; Love Your Neighbor. Ah, said those standing by him, but who is your neighbor? And so Jesus told the story of the Good Samaritan.

A man lie bloody and squishy looking beside the highway. First to walk by, the religious scion of society; a priest. ‘Eww,’ he said, and passed by on the other side of the road. Second to walk by, religious scion number two, a Levite. He passed by as well. And third to come along, the Samaritan, who, even more than base Gentiles was snubbed by the Jews of the time. And what did the Samaritan do? He cared. He stopped and showed compassion, he was gentle and tended to the man’s wounds. He carried him to a safe haven and paid for all of his care.

In short, who passed the test of love?
Kindness;
Compassion;
Mercy;
Love;
Generosity.

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. Galations 5: 22, 23

This is the real rule book of Christianity.

4 comments

  1. pluviolover · July 15, 2016

    I’m not sure that saying “that another club is the sneering elite of the skeptics” falls within my definition of “Kindness; Compassion; Mercy; Love; Generosity.” In my opinion, when we stereotype people then we are judging them all simply for what they believe (or not), regardless of what side they take in the discussion, if discussion and criticism are allowed (and they’re generally not permitted regarding religion). If I change “Samaritan” in the story/parable of the ‘good’ one to “Skeptic” or “Atheist,” is it still morally valid?

    Like

    • winneyb · July 15, 2016

      Bill, my friend- you’re right! I need to be more careful in my judgements, for sure. I wasn’t saying it about all atheists or skeptics, many of whom are good and noble people- but I was trying to indicate a type of skeptic that I’ve met. Or perhaps I mean a dogma repeated often in fiction and elsewhere- that ‘we’d all live in Utopia if there was no religion, we say ‘religion’ but really we’re not interested in targeting the other main world religions, just Christianity’, type of thing. I kept seeing movies and shows, where the serial killer turned out to read the bible and pray to an angry god and stuff. I may have gotten on my high horse, so I apologize! I’m sorry, again!

      Liked by 1 person

      • pluviolover · July 15, 2016

        I hope we are (and remain) friends. No need to ever apologize for having an opinion. And yes, people on both sides can be very offensive and unkind. However, it may seem to you that it is only “Christianity” because you live in a basically, a mostly Christian country and you identify as that religion. But every religious critic I know believes that Islam needs to do what Christianity has already done. Also, when we can part the people from the religion (just you might part the sinner from the sin), we find calmer waters. I new very well what you meant, but I thought for a long time before I hit comment. It is a difficult and sensitive topic (unfortunately). BTW–I’m in San Antonio….been 99 to 100 all week. ARG!!

        Liked by 1 person

    • winneyb · July 15, 2016

      Ha ha, do you mean, ‘ARG’ like the pirate ‘ARGH’?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

