Free-Range

chickens

For several days, I’ve had chickens on my mind. I helped Bekah chicken-sit while my friend was off camping. I remembered a funny video about chicken keeping I saw on youtube. I’m glad my friends so enjoy having chickens, but I don’t want to take up the lifestyle myself. I never realized that it was God bringing chickens to my mind. Last night Rick was watching a show he’d recorded about Homesteading. The plot is that these people go out to homestead and then they don’t have enough training and they get wasted out there. So some experts are brought in to analyze their homestead and save it. On this episode one of the major problems these homesteaders had was that they’d decided they must be entirely ‘Free-Range’ with their chickens and pigs. No pens, ever.

Now, some months later, their pigs (big scary boars) were running the farm. From fifty chickens they’d gone down to fifteen, and their 20 acre plot of land had more vultures and hawks circling it than the experts had seen. The predator birds were waiting for the sows to give birth so they could swoop down and rip at them for food. These people had to be convinced that ‘Free-Range’ didn’t mean utterly so, in fact, they weren’t responsible animal owners unless they protected the various creatures in their care.

And its true. My dear friends who have chickens let them roam about their yards during the day, but they work hard to keep them safe at night. They drive them into the pens they’ve built for them, and they actively keep the wolves, hawks, coyotes and other predators at bay.

So today I was praying. I was asking God- since He is such a God of love, why He can’t just forgive everybody, wholesale, and fix them into Heaven? Why does He have rules that we need to be saved from the consequence of?

And of course it all came together. My Jesus is so cool! He spends all these days putting chickens in my mind just so He could answer my question today. Here’s the first part of my favorite psalm.

Psalm 139

For the director of music. Of David. A psalm.

You have searched me, Lord,
    and you know me.
You know when I sit and when I rise;
    you perceive my thoughts from afar.
You discern my going out and my lying down;
    you are familiar with all my ways.
Before a word is on my tongue
    you, Lord, know it completely.
You hem me in behind and before,
    and you lay your hand upon me.
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,
    too lofty for me to attain.

In the spiritual world evil thoughts and crushing belief structures are delivered by predators we humans can’t see. In the war zone of our mental acreage, the battle God fights is for the hearts and minds of humans. He knows us inside and out. He wants us to be free and happy but He also must keep us safe. When He hems us in, it’s because He loves us.

So cling to the Morning Star during the day of our safety and love, and huddle in a clump with our human loved ones when we are lost in the night. God is the great chicken keeper!

One comment

  1. Ellen · June 28, 2016

    Love this chicken story and the chicken keeper!

    Like

Leave a Reply

