Last Words

JesusMount

Among Jesus’ last words before He knew he would be delivered to death were these:

John 16:7- Nevertheless, I tell you the truth: it is to your advantage that I go away, for if I do not go away, the Helper will not come to you. But if I go, I will send him to you. And when he comes, he will convict the world concerning sin and righteousness and judgment: concerning sin, because they do not believe in me; 10 concerning righteousness, because I go to the Father, and you will see me no longer; 11 concerning judgment, because the ruler of this world is judged.

So many people are upset by Christianity these days- thinking we focus on sin and judge others. But this is the judgement that Jesus came to deliver- for the ruler of this world. And the sin He talks of has nothing to do with the rulebook here- but instead is the sin of unbelief. Righteousness happens for us because Jesus died and, most important as is indicated here, rose again to go be with the Father.

Belief is what saves us. That God exists and cares about us. That Jesus died because God requires no sin and we’re incapable of doing that- even for a day. There’s only one sin that counts- unbelief, and one commandment above all else- to love. We don’t have to be perfect first, or change our spots. We don’t have to be perfect after either, although if we love God we hopefully try. The first and second commandment is to love God and others. Love. All we have to do? Believe and accept.

This kind of Jesus, is He really that hard to accept? Isn’t that the God a person wants to believe in? The great thing that Christians experience is this- we’ve somehow ( and not because we’re more worthy than others- on the contrary) stumbled upon the truth.

Wow. Let me repeat that. There’s all kinds of religions and opinions. But Jesus is real. He is. He really loves us this much. He does. None of my sins matter anymore, not the ones I did yesterday, am committing today or will accomplish tomorrow. I don’t carry them anymore. I’m like a child, skipping with no worries, holding my strong Father’s hand, laughing at the funnies, and with Heaven to look forward to instead of the fear of death.

All of that Jesus died to bring about, because He paid the price for us. Why did He have to- I was asked that recently? It’s more about the fact that He was willing to. He didn’t just preach love- He showed it. He didn’t love from a distance or with superiority. He came down here, suffered like we do, and proved it.

That’s what I’m remembering in the last days before Easter. Hallelujah, He has risen!

One comment

  1. Ellen · March 22, 2016

    Hallelujah indeed! What a savior!

    Like

Leave a Reply

