Grandma Time

Granda-read

How happy is me, instilling the love of reading to my grandbaby Jamie! When i was a little girl, the youngest of four in Kansas City, I played games by myself a lot. I would roam around the house and find kid corners to dream and imagine in. My mother had a lot of books. They were big, heavy, hard-bound adult tomes, but many had pictures in them. I would skim the book and find the pictures and study them. I’d wonder about the world, and the past- and dream into landscapes.

When I went to Elementary school, learning to read was a chore. I liked the pictures in the Dick and Jane books but sighed over the words. It took a while to master the skill. But when I was ten, my mother gave me The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. It was like coming home. My mind exploded. I got it, so many lessons- from, ‘this is a whole new WORLD,’ to ‘I feel like I know these characters!’. I roamed around the house with my book, and the now-customary glazed-over expression took over my face.

Now I get to write my dreams. I’m very thankful to be an author.

 

One comment

  1. sherijkennedyriverside · January 28, 2016

    I can relate to that amazing moment when it all came to life. My parents read to us since the day we were born, and because my older brother was already a voracious reader, I couldn’t wait to learn to read for myself. I already loved stories, but having the luxury of moving forward at my own pace and giving voice in my own mind to my new character friends – it was love at first read!

    Like

Leave a Reply

